How your MP voted

Submissions, both written and oral are in!  Exciting times ahead as the Select Committee have reported back and the Bill has passed through two vital votes, and also moved through the Committee stage where any amendments were voted on.

If you’re in doubt as to how your local MP voted the at the first and second readings, take a look at the table below.  Each MP is listed alphabetically (surname, first name), with their party, electorate and contact details, along with an external link to their Parliamentary webpage.  We ask you to download and print out some amazing ‘Say ‘I DO’ to marriage equality’ postcards which you can send (freepost!) direct to your MP in parliament to encourage them to vote a big YES! when it comes time for the second vote.  Or, since time is short with the final vote happening April 17, download a downloadable image, or a postcard and attach the image it to an email and send it to them – remind them to vote yes, or thank them for their ongoing support.

If you don’t know either your MP or your electorate, easy, click this link and search your address to find out.

As always, if you want to be part of the New Zealand Campaign for Marriage Equality, emails us (campaign@nzmarriageequality.co.nz), we would love to hear from you.

MP (SURNAME, FIRST NAME) PARTY ELECTORATE EMAIL ADDRESS How’d they vote?  First Reading How’d the vote?  Second Reading How’d they vote? Third Reading
Adams, Amy National Party Selwyn amy.adams@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Ardern, Jacinda Labour Party List jacinda.ardern@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Ardern, Shane National Party Taranaki-King Country shane.ardern@parliament.govt.nz N N N
Auchinvole, Chris National Party List chris.auchinvole@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Bakshi, Kanwaljit Singh National Party List bakshi.mp@parliament.govt.nz N N N
Banks, John ACT New Zealand Epsom john.banks@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Beaumont, Carol National Party List carol.beaumont@parliament.govt.nz *was not in Parliament Y Y
Barry, Maggie Labour Party North Shore maggie.barry@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Bennett, David National Party Hamilton East david.bennett@parliament.govt.nz N N Y
Bennett, Paula National Party Waitakere paula.bennett@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Blue, Jackie National Party List jackie.blue@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Borrows, Chester National Party Whanganui chester.borrows@parliament.govt.nz N N N
Bridges, Simon National Party Tauranga simon.bridges@parliament.govt.nz N N N
Browning, Steffan Green Party List steffan.browning@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Brownlee, Gerry National Party Ilam gerry.brownlee@parliament.govt.nz Y N N
Calder, Cam National Party List Cam.Calder@parliament.govt.nz  Y Y Y
Carter, David National Party List david.carter@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Chauvel, Charles Labour Party List charles.chauvel@parliament.govt.nz Y *no longer an MP, replaced by Carol Beaumont -
Clark, David Labour Party Dunedin North david.clark@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Clendon, David Green Party List david.clendon@parliament.govt.nz  Y Y Y
Coleman, Jonathan National Party Northcote jonathan.coleman@parliament.govt.nz Y N N
Collins, Judith National Party Papakura judith.collins@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Cosgrove, Clayton Labour Party List clayton.cosgrove@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Cunliffe, David Labour Party New Lynn david.cunliffe@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Curran, Clare Labour Party Dunedin South clare.curran@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Dalziel, Lianne Labour Party Christchurch East lianne.dalziel@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Dean, Jacqui National Party Waitaki jacqui.dean@national.org.nz Y Y Y
Delahunty, Catherine Green Party List catherine.delahunty@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Dunne, Peter United Future Ohariu peter.dunne@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Dyson, Ruth Labour Party Port Hills ruth.dyson@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
English, Bill National Party Clutha-Southland bill.english@parliament.govt.nz N N N
Faafoi, Kris Labour Party Mana kris.faafoi@parliament.govt.nz  Y Y Y
Fenton, Darien Labour Party List darien.fenton@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Finlayson, Christopher National Party List christopher.finlayson@parliament.govt.nz N N N
Flavell, Te Ururoa Maori Party Waiariki teururoa.flavell@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Foss, Craig National Party Tukituki craig.foss@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Genter, Julie Anne Green Party List julie.genter@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Gilmore, Aaron National Party List aaron.gilmore@parliament.govt.nz *was not in Parliament Y Y
Goff, Phil Labour Party Mt Roskill phil.goff@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Goldsmith, Paul National Party List paul.goldsmith@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Goodhew, Jo National Party Rangitata jo.goodhew@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Graham, Kennedy Green Party List kennedy.graham@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Groser, Tim National Party List tim.groser@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Guy, Nathan National Party Otaki nathan.guy@parliament.govt.nz N N N
Hague, Kevin Green Party List kevin.hague@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Harawira, Hone Mana Te Tai Tokerau hone.harawira@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Hayes, John National Party Wairarapa john.hayes@parliament.govt.nz N N N
Heatley, Phil National Party Whangarei phil.heatley@parliament.govt.nz N N N
Henare, Tau National Party List tau.henare@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Hipkins, Chris Labour Party Rimutaka chris.hipkins@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Horan, Brendan NZ First List brendan.horan@parliament.govt.nz N N N
Horomia, Parekura Labour Party Ikaroa-Rawhiti parekura.horomia@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Hughes, Gareth Green Party List gareth.hughes@parliament.govt.nz  Y Y Y
Huo, Raymond Labour Party List raymond.huo@parliament.govt.nz DNV Y Y
Hutchison, Paul National Party Hunua paul.hutchison@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Jones, Shane Labour Party List shane.jones@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Joyce, Steven National Party List steven.joyce@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Kaye, Nikki National Party Auckland Central nikki.kaye@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Key, John National Party Helensville john.key@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
King, Annette Labour Party Rongotai annette.king@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
King, Colin National Party Kaikoura colin.king@parliament.govt.nz N N N
Lee, Melissa National Party List melissa.lee@parliament.govt.nz N N N
Lees-Galloway, Iain Labour Party Palmerston North iain.lees-galloway@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Little, Andrew Labour Party List andrew.little@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Logie, Jan Green Party List jan.logie@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Lole-Taylor, Asenati NZ First List asenati.lole-taylor@parliament.govt.nz N N N
Lotu-Iiga, Peseta Sam National Party Maungakiekie sam.lotu-iiga@national.org.nz N N N
Macindoe, Tim National Party Hamilton West tim.macindoe@parliament.govt.nz N N N
Mackey, Moana Labour Party List moana.mackey@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Mahuta, Nanaia Labour Party Hauraki-Waikato nanaia.mahuta@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Mallard, Trevor Labour Party Hutt South trevor.mallard@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Martin, Tracey NZ First List tracey.martin@parliament.govt.nz N N N
Mathers, Mojo Green Party List mojo.mathers@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
McClay, Todd National Party Rotorua todd.mcclay@parliament.govt.nz N N N
McCully, Murray National Party East Coast Bays murray.mccully@parliament.govt.nz Y N N
McKelvie, Ian National Party Rangitikei ian.mckelvie@parliament.govt.nz Y N N
Mitchell, Mark National Party Rodney mark.mitchell@parliament.govt.nz N N N
Moroney, Sue Labour Party List sue.moroney@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Ngaro, Alfred National Party List alfred.ngaro@parliament.govt.nz N N N
Norman, Russel Green Party List russel.norman@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
O’Connor, Damien Labour Party West Coast-Tasman damien.oconnor@parliament.govt.nz  N N N
O’Connor, Simon National Party Tamaki simon.oconnor@parliament.govt.nz  N N N
O’Rourke, Denis NZ First List denis.orourke@parliament.govt.nz  N N N
Parata, Hekia National Party List hekia.parata@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Parker, David Labour Party List david.parker@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Peters, Winston NZ First List winston.peters@parliament.govt.nz N N N
Prasad, Rajen Labour Party List rajen.prasad@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Prosser, Richard NZ First List richard.prosser@parliament.govt.nz N N N
Robertson, Grant Labour Party Wellington Central grant.robertson@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Robertson, Ross Labour Party Manukau East ross.robertson@parliament.govt.nz N N N
Roche, Denise Green Party List denise.roche@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Ross, Jami-Lee National Party Botany jami-lee.ross@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Roy, Eric National Party Invercargill eric.roy@parliament.govt.nz N N N
Ryall, Tony National Party Bay of Plenty tony.ryall@parliament.govt.nz N N N
Sabin, Mike National Party Northland mike.sabin@parliament.govt.nz N N N
Sage, Eugenie Green Party List eugenie.sage@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Shanks, Katrina National Party List katrina.shanks@parliament.govt.nz N N N
Sharples, Pita Maori Party Tamaki Makaurau Pita.Sharples@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Shearer, David Labour Party Mt Albert david.shearer@parliament.govt.nz  Y Y Y
Simpson, Scott National Party Coromandel scott.simpson@parliament.govt.nz  Y Y Y
Sio, Su’a William Labour Party Mangere sua.william.sio@parliament.govt.nz  N N N
Smith, Lockwood National Party List lockwood.smith@parliament.govt.nz Y *no longer an MP, replaced by Aaron Gilmore -
Smith, Nick National Party Nelson nick.smith@parliament.govt.nz N N N
Stewart, Barbara NZ First List barbara.stewart@parliament.govt.nz N N N
Street, Maryan Labour Party List maryan.street@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Tirikatene, Rino Labour Party Te Tai Tonga rino.tirikatene@parliament.govt.nz Y Y N
Tisch, Lindsay National Party Waikato lindsay.tisch@parliament.govt.nz N N N
Tolley, Anne National Party East Coast anne.tolley@parliament.govt.nz N N N
Tremain, Chris National Party Napier chris.tremain@national.org.nz Y Y Y
Turei, Metiria Green Party List metiria.turei@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Turia, Tariana Maori Party Te Tai Hauauru tariana.turia@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Twyford, Phil Labour Party Te Atatu phil.twyford@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Upston, Louise National Party Taupo louise.upston@parliament.govt.nz N N N
Wagner, Nicky National Party Christchurch Central nicky.wagner@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Walker, Holly Green Party List holly.walker@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Wall, Louisa Labour Party Manurewa louisa.wall@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Wilkinson, Kate National Party Waimakariri kate.wilkinson@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Williams, Andrew NZ First List andrew.williams@parliament.govt.nz N N N
Williamson, Maurice National Party Pakuranga maurice.williamson@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Woodhouse, Michael National Party List michael.woodhouse@parliament.govt.nz N N N
Woods, Megan Labour Party Wigram megan.woods@parliament.govt.nz Y Y Y
Yang, Jian National Party List jian.yang@parliament.govt.nz N N N
Young, Jonathan National Party New Plymouth jonathan.young@parliament.govt.nz N N N

 

Related articles you may be interested in: Get Involved | The 10 Day Marriage Equality Challenge | How Laws Are Made In NZ | Marriage Equality Around the World